Are you a Tigger or an Eeyore…or worse?

28 Apr

While driving in the car the other day with the kids, and yes, all four tires were working this time, the boys began a conversation about Winnie the Pooh.  We had heard somewhere that there is a character on Winnie the Pooh to represent every type of personality.  So, their conversation went something like this:

Kaiden:  I would be Piglet, because he’s so shy.

Tristan:  I’m Tigger…boing, boing, boing!

Kaiden: No, I’m not Piglet, I’m Roo.  Because he likes to play and go on adventures.

Tristan:  I’m Tigger…boing, boing, boing!

Kaiden:  Dadda’s Eeyore.

There was no need for explaining, we all agreed on that one.

Kaiden:  Who’s Mama?

Now of course I was expecting him to say Kanga.  You know, the mother of the group.  The one who tends to all the creatures in the Hundred Acre Wood.  The one who nurtures them, cares for them, supports them.  But when I went to open my mouth with my chosen character, my son beat me to it…

Kaiden:  Mama’s RABBIT.

RABBIT?  Are you kidding?  Now it doesn’t take an expert to realize that out of ALL the characters on Winnie the Pooh, RABBIT is the least lovable.  RABBIT is the yellow starburst of the Pooh world.

RABBIT is bossy.  RABBIT is controlling.  RABBIT is a NAG!  They don’t even make stuffed animals to represent RABBIT; a self loathing Donkey, yes.  But RABBIT…Never!

Me:  I don’t think I’m Rabbit.  I think I’m more like Kanga.

Maybe they simply forgot about Kanga.

Tristan:  No Mama…you’re RABBIT!

Even my 3 year old is in on it.

So what started out as an entertaining conversation has now turned into an internal evaluation of my own character.  I don’t want to be RABBIT.  Perhaps if I were more timid, I would be Piglet.  Or if I hid my intelligence I could pass for Pooh.  If I channeled my energy I could be Tigger, or if I were more of a know- it-all I would be Owl.

But instead…I’m RABBIT.

Isn't he LOVABLE?

Oh well, I guess I’m off to tend to my garden and yell at everyone.

Who would you be?

6 Responses to “Are you a Tigger or an Eeyore…or worse?”

  1. km April 28, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    If it’s any consolation, I’d give ya Kanga! I actually afraid of whom my family would assign to me!

  2. Amber April 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Hey, don’t think of Rabbit as grumpy. Think of him as productive & practical.

    That didn’t help, did it?

    Yes, I’m afraid to answer that question. Or ask it.

    • momofsteel April 29, 2011 at 6:36 am #

      Well, I will admit I did always relate to Rabbit’s organizational skills.

  3. Amber April 29, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    This was SO funny! Kids say the TRUTH so much that it is painful! I have learned more about myself and my character through my kids, than any other life experience. And YES…most of them are not good! But I guess that is a good thing because it brings forth change and growth in our own lives and only making us better people and better parents. Even if you are RABBIT…your their RABBIT and they still love you in any form!

  4. Jessica April 29, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Ain’t nothin wrong with being Rabbit! Without Rabbit those fluffy headed lil critters would have gotten the stuffing knocked out of ’em by the Heffalumps and Woozles years ago. Someone has to be the brains of the operation. You just git ‘er done Rabbit!

    • momofsteel April 30, 2011 at 6:43 am #

      Thanks Amber and Jessica. Hopefully, all of us mothers have a little ‘RABBIT’ in us. Come to think of it, we probably have a bit of all the characters. I know my tummy grumbles whenever I see ‘chocolate.’ 🙂

Leave a comment